Oak Meadow, Bishop's Castle, Shropshire SY9 5PA

01588 638522


Bishop's Castle Primary School


The Governing Body

 The Governors are all people who live locally and who are interested in the school, concerned to support it, and able to strengthen the links between the school and the community it serves. Governors ensure that the school is being as effective as possible, that all legislation is properly implemented by the Head and staff, and that there is an appropriate curriculum and ethos in the school.

We always welcome interest from people who would like to serve the community in the role of school governor.

Register of Business Interests - Governors - can be accessed here:  ROI - October 2018

Scheme of Delegation:  Scheme of Delegation April 2018

The Committees Structure are detailed here:     Achievement Committee 2019     Resources Committee 2019      Safeguarding Committee 2019 

Committees attendance record:   Governors Committee Attendance September 2017 to December 2018

For more information on BAET:  http://www.baet.org.uk/your-role/



Mr Andrew Barker 

Head Teacher - ex officio 

Mrs Jane Carroll

Chair of Governors and Resources Committee - Foundation Governor

Miss Kay Commis

Teaching Staff Representative


Staff Governor

Mrs Amanda Houghton

Parent Governor

Mrs Joy Howells

Community Governor

Mr Greg Jones

Parent Governor

Mr Norman Jones

Co-opted Governor

Mr Jason Price

Community Governor

Mr Huw Prole

Community Governor

Dr Chris Russell

Foundation Governor


Co-opted Governor